Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

Cute! March 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 4:11 am
Tags:

So we’re pretty much done with out little happy flower bed.  We need to get a couple more potted plants.  So far I have one Indian Hawthorne planted on the far right, a crooked Hibiscus, some kind of grass (?) plant, and a blue Hydrangea…. and a pinwheel and a bird house.  That’s pretty much it.  I decided it would be easier to maintain if we pretty much did a rock bed with potted plants.  That way if we kill something, we can just toss it and get something alive again.  I’m hoping the Hawthorne will get some height to it in the next few months but I honestly have no idea what those things turn into.

Here is our pre-flower bed pre-shutter house…boring, huh? 

house1

So here are some pictures from our fun little yard project.  Initially I bought 4 bags of the red lava rock.  We ended up needing 7 more!  And I think we could actually 1 more.  My calculations were WAY off on that one.  It took longer than I thought it would, which is pretty much always the case.  Phillip and I had no time on Sunday to work on this together so we kind of had to tag team it.  And then the other hold up was the lack of enough lava rock and the failure to get to Lowe’s before they closed.  

img_0719

img_0721

img_0723

Also, Phillip decided that most of my hard work on the barrier had to be redone because it wasn’t straight enough.  Usually I’m the one that cares if stuff is straight, even, level…etc. so that was kind of surprising that he even gave a rip.  Nice and straight after Phillip fixed it.  We decided it would be easiest to just kill the grass with roundup and then do that mesh stuff to keep stuff from growing through it.  Hope it works to keep the grass out.

img_0727

Anyway, it got finished today and I’m pretty happy with it.  Still looks a little naked (nekkid), though.  What should we add?

img_0980

img_0978

img_0982

img_0984

img_0979

We still have a nice, red front door  with a big glass star window that needs to go in but we are going to have to hire someone to do it.  We also need about 4 or 5 shingles replaced on our roof.  Do you know of anyone who can knock those two things out in a few hours?

 

3 Responses to “Cute!”

  1. Debbie Says:

    It looks very nice. Good job you two! Donald will be pleased.

  2. Pennie Stanley Says:

    Gosh, this makes me jealous…there are so many things that I want to do with my yard…sigh…maybe someday soon. There re too many things to do on the inside first.

    The house looks good though.

  3. […] I want him to look forward to the variety of books we’ll be reading this year. Remember these plants? Yeah, these plants…. Yeah, well they DON’T look kind of like this now…. I […]


Leave a Reply

