Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

He’s very independent. April 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 11:23 pm

So this is another post about Mikey.  Sorry, I don’t have anything else to write about.  We’ve been playing outside a lot more lately since the weather is nice and the mosquitos are tollerable.  Mikey likes to go back and forth from the front yard to the backyard over and over and over and over again.  And what’s even more annoying is that he doesn’t want me to be in the same space that he’s in.  He likes his freedom.  He will take my hand and take me to the back yard gate, open it, push me in, close the gate and say “Bye, Meemee.”  Then he just walks back to the front yard to do whatever he was doing before.  Or he’ll go in the backyard himself and refuse to let me in.  Now of course I realize he’s 2 and I could go in the back yard if I wanted to but it’s really not worth the battle.  I just hang out on the other side of the fence and watch him from there.  He gets a huge grin on his face when he realizes that I’m going to stay out.  I don’t let him play in the front yard by himself though.  

 

He’s gotten great about staying on the sidewalk.  He doesn’t even act like he’s interested in walking in the street but I still don’t really trust him.  Sometimes when we’re in the yard playing he’ll just wave and walk on down the sidewalk.  He doesn’t care if anyone is with him.  I’m sure he would rather that no one follow him or walk beside him at all.  I honestly think if no one was watching him he’d just walk and walk and never care about getting lost or hurt.

 

Leave a Reply

