Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

Play dough April 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 5:49 pm

We have some homemade red play dough at the preschool where I teach.  We let our kids play with it pretty much every day that we’re there.  We have had this particular vat of play dough since the beginning of February I think.  And I don’t have to tell you that 4 year olds are pretty gross.  They pick their noses, their booties, lick their fingers, etc., etc…  They’re just kind of gross creatures.  Anyway, I’m sure this play dough is a horrible germy mess by now.  I shudder to think what all could be growing and lurking in it.  One of my kids (I won’t name any names) has realized that it really bothers me when he eats the play dough.  This kid in particular likes to get under my skin.  Usually I try not to show him any weaknesses because I know he’ll use it against me.  But he has discovered my play dough weakness and he’s torturing me.  Today when he dramatically went out of his way to eat a small bite of play dough in front of me I almost lost my breakfast.  He eats it like he’s eating a delicacy, holding it out in front of him with a look of longing and then slowly puts in his mouth.  He gets this satisfied look on his face like it’s the best thing he’s ever tasted.  And today when he did this I literally almost threw up.  Even now thinking about it, it’s making me nauseous.  I’ve never had a weak stomach but for whatever reason this play dough thing is really getting to me.  I’ve got to get a grip or just throw the stuff away.  He has the upper hand and I must gain it back.  

 

I rarely ever let my own kids play with play dough.  I don’t know if Mikey has ever played with it.  It’s just gross stuff.  And now after watching this kid eat it like it’s a gourmet meal, I just don’t know if I’ll ever be able to handle play dough again.

 

Leave a Reply

