Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

My weekend getaway June 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 10:29 pm

*Sorry if you’re getting this through a feed reader. I keep noticing mistakes and republishing over and over. Isn’t that charming of me?*

First of all, I think Phillip fixed the problem with the spacing on my blog. He’s my hero. Truly.


Okay, this will interest about 5 of you (maybe) but here goes anyway.


On Friday afternoon I went to Houston for the weekend. I went ALONE! It was good. How’s that for a fantastic sentence?! “It was good.” Anyway, here are my “adventures.” BTW, I kind of journaled (is that a verb) most of this while I was there because I didn’t have a computer and I didn’t trust my brain to remember.

Friday, June 12, 2009


I decided to stop in Pearland at Half Priced Books before heading to the hotel. I passed it up twice before I finally got there. I purchased 4 somewhat random books.
On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan
Grace (Eventually) by Anne Lamott
A Season in the Desert by W. Paul Jones (What does this guy go by? W. or Paul? That’s just confusing.)
She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb


When I checked out, the lady told me that Anne Lamott is very good and insightful. I guess we’ll see about that.


I then went to Starbucks and got an iced coffee and some fruit. There was a type of fruit in the container that I don’t remember having before. Turns out it was mango.


I went to H.E.B. Central Market before going to the hotel because I didn’t already have enough crap to carry from my car to my room. I knew I wanted to get some stuff to snack on. And I just like that place. It was very strange going into a grocery store with absolutely no agenda, no time frame, no list… I purposefully just took my time and wandered around. I was surrounded by people who were in a hurry, thinking of the next thing to do. While I was in the store I intentionally tried to look as many people in the eyes as I could without looking like a weirdo. So many people never saw me at all. They never glanced my way. Too busy to see the other people sharing their space. Because they had places to be, things to do and noticing other people doesn’t always fit into that.


I ended up in the slowest check out line. The poor cashier was nervous and shaky and sweaty. I don’t know if it was his first day or what but it was pretty painful to watch. At first I started to look around for a different line but then decided to just be content to be where I was. Another lady pointed out an available checker to me. I thanked her and told her that I was good, that I had no place to be. She just said, “Oh” with a look of kind of surprised confusion. The lady in front of me in line was beginning to lose her patience with the cashier. I could see the frustration creeping its way up the back of her neck. I know that feeling. I feel it a lot but I did not feel it today.

Stuff I bought:


IMG_8514
Dinner:
– best. chicken salad. ever.
– Pasta Salad
– Fruit


Why don’t I eat more fruit in real life?


Shower:
I bought some organic soap at Central Market that smells like Vick’s VapoRub. I don’t want to smell like Vick’s VapoRub.


Book:
Let’s start with A Season in the Desert. good quote “The beginning of spirituality is to do nothing and feel no guilt.” p.7 Got bored by p.14 – will come back to it later.


Picked it up again, this time with a muffin. Got to p. 26 – still bored. This book is just cold, impersonal, psycho-babble (in my “uneducated” opinion) Going to try a different book.


Grace (Eventually) Thoughts on Faith – got to p.26. This book is a maybe.


8:15 – going to bed


Saturday, June 13, 2009


Woke up at 6:30 and watched Juno on HBO. Teared up just a little towards the end.


So far while I have been here I have slept in the very middle of a king sized bed and used the bathroom with the door open.


I fulfilled a life-long dream by going in The Container Store. It is probably an organized person’s wonder land. Me, I was in and out of there in less than 15 minutes. I did pick up a couple of things. Official “The Container Store” containers are more expensive than my regular Target containers.


I went to The Galleria for a few hours. Parking garages make me nervous. I know that sounds very “old lady” of me but it’s true. I hate them. I wrote down my parking location on a piece of envelope and stuck it in my back pocket. As I walked away from my car and towards The Galleria entrance I felt like Lucy from The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe as she walked from the wardrobe toward the lamp post, glancing back to make sure it was still there and that she could go back to it.


I splurged on lunch and went to The Cheesecake Factory. I had chicken potstickers, coffee, and cheesecake. I ate on that cheesecake the rest of the day. While still at The Galleria I let a young man with a strange accent waste his time (and mine) trying to sell me some skin care products knowing full well that I had absolutely no intention of buying anything.


1:30 – Back in the room. Here’s my view. Breathtaking.


IMG_8518
IMG_8521
Oh, and here are some pictures of the inside. Also, fantastic.


IMG_8524
IMG_8527


Started She’s Come Undone. Got to p. 49. I might actually finish this book.


short nap


I went to Central Market again for more of that really good chicken salad. I took my dinner with me to the park behind The Galleria. You know, the one with the water wall.


IMG_8542
I took a few pictures….


IMG_8535
IMG_8536
IMG_8539
IMG_8549


As I was taking this picture


IMG_8553


A security guard came up to me and told me that I would have to put my camera away. There were people all over the place with cameras. I asked her why. She said because it is a “professional” camera. I asked her what gave her the impression this was a “professional” camera. She said, “because it’s big.”

I toyed with her for a while, asking her various questions like “Is there a sign somewhere stating that you can’t have big cameras because if so I didn’t see that.” And “What if I take the flash off? Is it still too big for you?” I told her it was the only camera I have, which is actually a lie because the other camera is even bigger. She said that there was another lady at the park who had a “big camera” and she had to ask her to put her camera away too and mine was even “bigger” than hers. I didn’t even have my telephoto on at that point. I had my small wide angle zoom on. I didn’t really care. I had photographed everything I cared to and I was about ready to leave anyway. But I had nothing better to do at that moment than give her a hard time. Just so you know, I was smiling a little while I was messing with her. I really wasn’t being rude. Okay, maybe a little bit rude. Certainly cocky. But seriously, “too big”? Come on. As I was packing up my camera a guy came up to me to ask what that was all about. He wondered if he was going to be asked to put his camera away too. I told him that his camera was small so he should be okay. After I got across the street and off of park property, I got my camera back out and took this picture.


IMG_8556


I just did it to be a pain in the butt.


Back in the hotel room, I watched a little t.v. and read all of On Chesil Beach in one sitting. That was a very sad book. Maybe I’ll write more about that book later.


to bed at 1:30 a.m.


I didn’t journal anymore after that. The next morning I got up pretty late and went to eat breakfast at Chacho’s. I intentionally sat where other people were not. Just a couple of minutes after I sat down, a couple of guys came and sat at the table right in front of mine. There were plenty of tables everywhere. They didn’t have to sit there. Whatever, fine. But then one of the guys starts dropping the F-bomb like every 2 seconds. It’s just irritating. I mean, I’ve heard that word before. It’s not new to me. But that’s just rude. I moved to another table. Shortly after that two other guys came and sat right next to me. I don’t want to presume but they were talking about their “feelings” just strange stuff that guys shouldn’t be talking about. They sounded like a couple of girls. While I sat there and read, a couple of pigeons ate my left over breakfast right there in front of me.


And then I think I just went and goofed off and spent money I probably shouldn’t have spent until Phillip got to the hotel at about 4:30. During that goof off time, I went in some educator store that was so cool. I probably spent an hour and a half in that place. I went in some shoe store, DSW or something like that. That place has more shoes than any place has a right to. Some people would love to be surrounded by that many shoes. I was very uncomfortable. I can’t imagine actually finding a pair of shoes in a place like that. It’s like “I couldn’t see the forest for the trees” or whatever that saying is. I remembered at that moment that I am very cheap. I am a walking talking Target ad most of the time and places like that just stress me out. Just give me 7-10 choices of flip flops and I’m good. I can handle that.


When Phillip got there we went and saw the movie UP and went to Chuy’s for dinner. UP was pretty cool. I really enjoyed it. I had been warned that I would cry during the whole thing. I didn’t feel the slightest urge to cry. This morning we went to Chacho’s again for breakfast. Then we wandered around Ikea, dreaming about our soon to be newly organized offices. And then we came home.


So, that’s pretty much it. I have no deep revelations to share. I didn’t have a “mountain top experience” or anything like that, although I would have welcomed it. I just relaxed and did nothing important and didn’t feel guilty about it. Not even a little. I didn’t miss my home, husband, kids, or dog. I just enjoyed being by myself. Does that make me a “bad” mom, wife, dog owner?

No, it doesn’t. Not at all. Not even a little.

 

2 Responses to “My weekend getaway”

  1. Mom Says:

    Thanks to you and Phillip for letting me keep Mikey Sun. night and Monday while you read a whole book, shopped, goofed around, saw a movie, and even ate mango for the first time. (Guess I never did buy any when you were growing up.) Mikey and I had fun too.

  2. […] Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 6:15 pm Tags: Ian McEwan, On Chesil Beach During my weekend getaway I bought several books at Half Priced Books. Most of them were duds in my opinion. But I read this […]


Leave a Reply

