Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

Not Me! Monday July 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 3:08 pm

NotMeMondayButtonV6copy
Welcome to Not Me! Monday! This blog carnival was created by MckMama. You can head over to her blog to read what she and everyone else have not been doing this week.


I did not forget to apply sunscreen to my chest when I went to the beach last week. I didn’t fry myself. I’m not peeling. More importantly, I have not gone out in the sun in that same swim suit several more times so I could expose that area to more dangerous UV….whatever rays. Not me! .


I have not almost HAD IT with my 2 year old screaming and throwing toys at bedtime. I am not at my wits end and running out of hope. I haven’t gone into his room after he’s FINALLY asleep and laid down next to him and cried because I feel like an utter failure. I have not been thinking that pitching a tent in the backyard and making him sleep outside would be a better option. I have not entertained the thought of how I could actually keep him contained in the backyard legally. NO WAY!! I’ve got this parenting thing down. I always know exactly the right way to handle my beautiful, angel faced children.


I have been keeping the house very orderly and spotless since I posted those pictures of it being clean. I have not let every room begin to slip a little too much. I’m not beginning to feel that all of that cleaning was in vain and I should just succumb to having a permanently messy house as long as people live in it. No, I have a plan….a weekly cleaning schedule to ensure that it all gets done. I dust. I mop. I clean baseboards. I clean ceiling fans. I feel it is my calling, really. Cleaning that is. “Cleaning is my calling.” I’m going to get a t-shirt made that says that. Better yet, I’m going to get it printed up on a skanky hot pink halter top! What would you think about that?!


I’m not losing my mind because THAT CHILD (whom I adore) IS THROWING TOYS AT MY NICELY REFINISHED FLOORS!!! I’M NOT BITTER!!!!


Okay, I feel better now.

 

2 Responses to “Not Me! Monday”

  1. thestunzfamily Says:

    I don’t think any “real” human being that has a 2 yr. old, has a clean house! We hardly ever had people over when the kids were little. Relax. Someday you’ll have plenty of time to clean. It’s not all it’s cracked up to be. 🙂

  2. Shannon Says:

    Jenny…..have skimmed a few of your posts and just want to say I like your tone of writing and the realness of it all is refreshing. It sounds like you have your hands full, a busy life, and plenty of challenges with Mikey…..but it also sounds like you’re an absolutey fantastic mother that does an amazing job and has an incredibly supportive husband and faith!

    I think you’re pretty incredible in that you still manage to find the humour and see the positive in the midst of everyday parenting.

    Keep smiling and all the best!

    Shannon


Leave a Reply

