Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

They Might Be Giants…CD giveaway! July 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 8:53 pm
Tags: ,

Some of you know from reading this blog that we listen to this CD many times a day.


album-here-come-the-123s-with-bonus-tracks-and-video-amazoncom-exclusive-cddvd


We get to listen to such amazing lyrics as….


What if you drew a giant circle
What if it went around all there is
Then would there still be such a thing as an outside
And does that question even make any sense?


and


Two hips for shakin’, two lips for kissin’
Too long I’ve been blue, because it’s you that I’m missin’
Two knees for kneelin’, two shoulders for shruggin’
Two cheeks to make a little grin while we’re huggin’


and


One named Polly had a parrot
The second named Polly had a parrot too
That’s the part that is confusing
And they were identical twins


and


Please can I have one Mr. Ichthyosaur?
No, you can’t, I’m saving them for friends
But you don’t have any friends
Yes, I do
No, you don’t
Yes, I do. Now be quiet
I’m trying to concentrate



And I think after listening to this CD so many times, I’m beginning to become ONE with it. We sing the songs from this CD all the time. Sometimes Phillip and I will even break into song together when the kids aren’t even around. It’s true. It’s sad. I know.


And I think you should have it too. Especially if you have kids under the age of 10. I have a special place in my heart for children’s music, especially children’s music that is clever and not dumbed down. And these guys are about as clever as it gets in my opinion. So I want to give one away!


So this is what you need to do to enter. Tell me one song that you remember from your childhood or that you have used with your own kids that you consider infectious. A song that when you hear it it sticks in your head for days on end. Just leave it in the comments section of my blog. Some of you read this stuff on my facebook notes and you can leave the comment there too. I will consider them all. I will let my 7 year old help me pick the winner because he’s sort of impartial. (btw if you’re reading this on facebook, I think you can click on the picture to get to my actual blog)


So get your friends to enter! I want to be reminded of as many obnoxious children’s songs as possible. I’ll pick the winner….let’s say on Wednesday, July 29th. If you want to include song titles but don’t want the CD, that’s cool too. Just tell me that you don’t really want it. But I think you’re nuts if you don’t want it! Even if you don’t have kids, you should have this CD!

 

5 Responses to “They Might Be Giants…CD giveaway!”

  1. traci mcgrath Says:

    Alan wants to play. His favorite is:
    “Oh Mr. Moon, Moon, bright and shiny moon, won’t you please shine down on me??”
    He used to tap rhythms on the table and make his mom guess the song and that was the favorite.

    Mine is…”You are my sunshine” – I remember my mom rocking me and singing that to me whenever I was sad or sick and it always comforted me.

  2. Aunt Gale Says:

    Found a peanut, found a peanut, found a peanut just now,
    oh I just now found a peanut, found a peanut just now…..
    It was rotten……..you get the point.

    No I do not want the CD, but thanks anyway!

  3. lindseymichelle Says:

    Mmmm so many to choose from… but the comment above reminded me of this one: “A peanut sat on a railroad track, his heart was all aflutter. Along came the choo choo train. ‘Choo choo!’ – Peanut butter!”

    Doesn’t seem so cute when you really think about it, though…

  4. Erin Martin Says:

    The one that drove my mom crazy was “Bringing Home a baby Bumble Bee” and the the one my kids loved was “Oh you can’t get to heaven on … ” you know the one you can make up all the things you want to. Also one of Hunter’s favorites was ” I’m a nut in a rut” Aubrey’s favorite was “The Zany Zesty Zippy Zig Zag Dance”

  5. […] 2009 Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 3:49 pm Jackson has chosen the winner of my Free CD giveaway. And the winner is……..drum roll, please The Martin Family with I’m a nut in a […]


Leave a Reply

