Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

Friday Foto Fix August 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 6:04 pm
Tags:

fridayfotofix


Yes, I know this is kind of late in the day on Friday but it is still Friday. My friend, Lindsey sent me this picture of a waterfall from one of their camping/hiking trips to…?? somewhere. Anyway, here is the original.


Picture 684orig


As you can tell, it’s too dark and really doesn’t do justice to the beautiful scene.


So first I sharpened up the image a little bit. Then I did some tricks to brighten the picture while still keeping the sky in the background blue and not overexposed. I also brightened up the foliage some by adding a new layer in photoshop and painting some light green over the areas I wanted to be brighter. Then I used that layer as an overlay to the original picture. There were a few spots that were kind of noisy once the picture was brightened up. I used noiseware to take care of that. I also whitened and brightened the water. So here’s the picture after those things were done.


Picture 684


Then I decided that I really didn’t like the waterfall in the middle of the picture. Following the whole “rule of thirds” thing I decided to crop it so the waterfall is off center.


Picture 684crop


And then I also did a black and white conversion.


Picture 684cropbw


So thanks for playing along, Lindsey!! I’ll e-mail these back to you and you’ll have a pretty new picture to add to your scrapbook.


If you want me to try my hand at fixing one of your photos, send it to jhintze@jhintze.com and I’ll see what I can do. Happy Friday!

 

One Response to “Friday Foto Fix”

  1. lindseymichelle Says:

    Yay! Thanks! This was at the bottom of the Grand Canyon at Mooney Falls in the Havasupai Indian Reservation. 🙂 Way fun trip. Highly recommend it if you are up for a hike.


Leave a Reply

