Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

A Mikey progress report September 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 11:43 pm
Tags:

First, I just have to post a couple more recent pictures of one of the cutest kids ever made.


IMG_7368bw
IMG_7404
IMG_7398bw


I am so happy…giddy…elated…overjoyed to report that Mikey has taken a liking to preschool and is doing great!! People said he would adjust. I wanted to believe them but for the most part I thought they were nuts and living in fantasy land. And I’m happy to say that it looks like I was wrong about that. He loves going to school. And I’ve gotten good reports from the director that he’s been doing great and “blending in” with the other kids. Is he still challenging for his teacher? Oh, probably but not so much that he’s disrupting their day and causing his teacher to turn in her resignation. I am so very proud of him.


We took Mikey to the Mall the other night to play in the falling apart Dow House. Not that long ago when we would go there, Phillip and I couldn’t even sit down. We were constantly keeping Mikey from throwing shoes, stealing drinks, running out the door, pushing people’s strollers, and so on. But anyway, when we went the other night he just played so nicely with the other kids. He was like a different child. He only threw two shoes, and in his defense they weren’t in the shoe caddy where they belonged. And he only started trying to escape and steal a stroller after we had been there about 45 minutes or so.


We decided to try to take a snapshot of our family the other night since it’s been over a year since we’ve done that. I expected it to be a complete disaster. But much to my surprise, Mikey sat for all of the pictures and looked at the light on the camera and even smiled. Most of the pictures were unusable because Jackson wasn’t cooperating, not Mikey. Here’s one that I had to crop Jack out of.


IMG_0502


Mikey has been talking a lot more and coming close to saying many more words correctly. He’s not throwing nearly as many tantrums anymore. He’s not whining as much anymore. He’s almost totally potty trained (except for #2….) There are just more and more positive things to say everyday about him. He has just become a very pleasant kid. I finally feel like we’ve turned a real corner with him. He’s still very active and inquisitive. I don’t think that’s ever going to change and I wouldn’t want that to change. But he has just been so happy and fun to be around lately. It’s just really cool. He’s just really cool.

 

3 Responses to “A Mikey progress report”

  1. Granny Says:

    I’m just overjoyed.

  2. Nana Says:

    I just read this aloud to Donald as we ride along on our way to Ridgecrest. It made our day! Mikey is making great strides and we couldn’t be prouder. We love that child!

    • Dedee Says:

      Jenny…I am smiling….All those fears and failures lead to this…the feeling that what you are doing is finally working! I love that you are real and talk about the failures and the successes (sp)! I love that silly, crazy kid and the whole family! Love you!


Leave a Reply

