Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

Trying December 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 11:09 pm
Tags:

I’m trying to keep some perspective about Mikey and this whole preschool thing. I’m trying. I’m really really trying.


There are many worse things in the world than your kid not being able to “hang” in preschool. I know that but right now I just feel so overwhelmed with something that must be grief. I know that sounds so silly. He’s alive, he’s healthy, he’s smart, he’s mine. But I’m just so sad right now about this whole thing. I’m just brokenhearted over this entire situation. I’m not even worried about him being home more and in my hair more. That’s really not even what’s bothering me. I’m so sad that he won’t be able to participate in all the fun that goes on at that place. I hurt for him and he doesn’t even know what’s going on. Uggghhh…this really sucks and right now I’m just trying to keep it from consuming me.


I think instead I’ll just focus on this sweet face. I’ll focus on what I know to be true of my son. And I will just try to let everything else go. Because when I wake up in the morning this is what I’ll see. He’ll melt me all over again. Yeah, I think I’ll just focus on this.


 

2 Responses to “Trying”

  1. Granny Says:

    Jenny, I know you are sad, and yes, you are grieving, but considering that some kids don’t even start to preschool at age 2, maybe just trying to “shake it off”, as they used to say when you played softball, would be the thing to try to do for now. These are just my thoughts. Between home, grandparents, his church class, he will still have fun and creative things to do and will be happy if we that are around him are happy.
    I love you.

  2. jhintze Says:

    You are absolutely right, Mom. Thanks for helping me put things in perspective. Many (most?) 5 or 6 year old boys have a hard time acclimating to kindergarten. And here I and others are expecting Mikey to do things that he’s just not ready for yet. Doesn’t mean that he won’t ever be but he’s just not yet. We tried it. It didn’t work….


Leave a Reply

