Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

Que Será Será December 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 11:16 pm
Tags:

So I’ve had a little over a day now to think about things and talk to some trusted people about Mikey and preschool. Time and thinking really does wonders. But if I only blogged when I feel positive or like I’ve got everything figured out, I’d blog about twice a year and none of you would read it. Anyway, I just wanted to say that I’m cool with things now. Mikey is two, almost three. And as you all know, he has been a verbally delayed toddler and two, almost three year old. He’s catching up in many ways and making lots of progress.


But in the preschool environment he’s required to do things that he’s just not capable and/or willing to do right now. By nature Mikey is a strong willed non-conformist, among other things. He is difficult, rewarding, tedious, and glorious to parent. Stick a strong willed non-conformist preschooler in a room with other preschoolers and tell him to stand and he will sit; tell him to sit and he will stand; tell him to walk and he will run. I myself have taught preschoolers bent as Mikey is bent and more often than not, you want to hand in your badge and call it a day. Mikey will and is learning to submit to authority but that is something that for whatever reason goes very strongly against his nature. And he’s got to learn to control his impulses and think through what his actions will cause. But again, he’s not quite three years old. Most children his age have similar struggles, just perhaps not to the degree that he does. They don’t call it “terrible 2’s” for nothing.


He has been getting early childhood speech therapy through our local Early Childhood Intervention program. Once he’s three, he’ll age out of that and will receive needed therapy through the school district. He’ll be evaluated on December 14th to find out what kinds of services those will be. I know for sure he’ll receive speech therapy and beyond that, I just don’t know yet.


I’ve been contemplating trying to get him back in the preschool he was going to sooner than next school year. But the more I really think about it, the more I think that’s just not the place for him right now. I wish like crazy that it were. He really loves it there but he’s got to be willing to love it on other people’s terms rather than just his own. And it is ultimately our responsibility to teach him these things, not any school. I believe that he’s got the best teachers he could have in this family. We aren’t perfect by any means and we’ve never claimed to be. But we are dedicated to molding him into the man he was created to be. We are blessed with an amazing support system of parents, extended family, and friends.


On a somewhat related positive note I have to tell you that Mikey is almost completely potty trained!! He wears underwear from morning ’till night with very few accidents. Today I didn’t even tell him when to go the potty. He just went when he needed to go. We’ve been taking him to restaurants and stores and even Chick-Fil-A in underwear and we’ve had no yucky surprises lately. We’re still working on #2 because he asks for a diaper to do that business most of the time. And occasionally he asks for a pair of underwear to put on his head.


When I was just a little girl
I asked my mother, what will I be
Will I be pretty, will I be rich
Here’s what she said to me.


Que Sera, Sera,
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours, to see
Que Sera, Sera
What will be, will be.


When I was young, I fell in love
I asked my sweetheart what lies ahead
Will we have rainbows, day after day
Here’s what my sweetheart said.


Que Sera, Sera,
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours, to see
Que Sera, Sera
What will be, will be.


Now I have children of my own
They ask their mother, what will I be
Will I be handsome, will I be rich
I tell them tenderly.


Que Sera, Sera,
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours, to see
Que Sera, Sera
What will be, will be.

 

3 Responses to “Que Será Será”

  1. Granny Says:

    Alright! I just got home over icy roads and bridges, and this made my day. My family rocks!

  2. Aunt Gale Says:

    Mikey will be just fine because he is being raised by parents who care about him and will do everything in their power to give him what he needs. Not everyone is so lucky. As a teacher, I see kids daily (way too many of them) who don’t care that their children can’t adapt to a classroom setting, and these are older teenagers. These kids don’t have a chance because no one is fighting to help them grow up. Your children are blessed. You and Phillip are great parents. And your support system of family and friends is equally great. The change is Mikey is probably more apparent to me because I don’t see him as often, and I can honestly say that he is growing and maturing by leaps and bounds. Again, he will be just fine.

    I love that you just Doris Day’s lyrics. That has always been one of my favorite songs and it is perfect for this time and place.


Leave a Reply

