Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

A Journey March 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 10:35 am
Tags:

So you may remember this post.


My mom got a call yesterday morning that we needed to see her doctor to review her MRI results. The doctors believe, based on several factors, that the mass in my mom’s liver is hepatocellular carcinoma, which is cancer. Which means that it’s not what we were hoping for. She will have more tests and scans in the next few weeks to see if it has metastasized to anywhere else in her body. The doctor told us that this was the beginning of a journey. That makes it sound nicer than it is. Please please be in prayer for my mom. This is just not something that we even feel we can accept right now.


When I was 11 our house burned down. My mom went back over to the house a few days later to sort through stuff and see if anything could be salvaged. There wasn’t much that could be. But when she went to the side of the house to go to the backyard she saw a page from an old Baptist hymnal laying there in front of the gate. The edges were burned. This is the hymn that she found. She memorized it and yesterday on the way home she quoted it to me.


I KNOW WHO HOLDS TOMORROW

I don’t know about tomorrow,
I just live from day to day.
I don’t borrow from its sunshine,
For its skies may turn to gray.

Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand;
But I know who holds tomorrow,
And I know who holds my hand.

I don’t worry o’er the future
For I know what Jesus said,
And today I’ll walk beside Him,
For He knows what is ahead.

Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand;
But I know who holds tomorrow,
And I know who holds my hand.

Ev’ry step is getting brighter,
As the golden stairs I climb;
Ev’ry burden’s getting lighter;
Ev’ry cloud is silver lined.

Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand;
But I know who holds tomorrow,
And I know who holds my hand.

There the sun is always shining,
There no tear will dim the eyes,
At the ending of the rainbow,
Where the mountains touch the sky.

Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand;
But I know who holds tomorrow,
And I know who holds my hand.

I don’t know about tomorrow,
It may bring me poverty;
But the One who feeds the sparrow,
Is the One who stands by me.

Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand;
But I know who holds tomorrow,
And I know who holds my hand.

And the path that be my portion,
May be through the flame or flood,
But His presence goes before me,
And I’m covered with His blood.

Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand;
But I know Who holds tomorrow,
And I know Who holds my hand.


So there you have it. This isn’t the news I was hoping to deliver at all. But like the doc said, this is a journey and like the song says, we know who holds our hands. Mom, I love you so very much. And I’m walking this thing with you.

 

Leave a Reply

