Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

What to do….what to do?? April 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 8:09 am

This is a homeschool post.


So this year has gone okay so far. I could have and probably should have done a lot of things differently. We’ve had lots of stinky days. We’ve had lots of days that I thought I was doing more harm than good. But we’ve also had some really great days. We’ve spent a lot of time together this school year that we otherwise would have. I definitely don’t regret our decision to homeschool Jackson this year. I have learned a lot about what works and what doesn’t.


But now the problem I’m facing is when do we send him back to public school. We know we’re homeschooling next year for 3rd grade. I feel about 97% sure that I don’t want to do this through high school. And I know that I don’t have to make the decision now and I know that we need to think about it and pray about it and all that stuff. But I know that some of you reading have had kids go through Rasco and LJI and if that’s you, I would really like your input. That doesn’t mean that I’m necessarily going to take your advice but I would like to hear what you have to say. I don’t know if it would be better to send Jack back to public school when he starts Rasco or when he starts LJI. And if he’s going to go to Rasco then maybe I should send him back in 4th grade so he can make some friends before I throw him to the wolves at Rasco.


So what are your thoughts? And if you are 100% anti-homeschooling (like I used to be) then try to keep an open mind.

 

5 Responses to “What to do….what to do??”

  1. Lauri Jensen Says:

    i’ve homeschooled, christian schooled and public schooled. there is no perfect solution. i believe you have to look at each child and each year. it is good that you are thinking ahead though. just don’t ever be afraid of backing up or changing if something you thought would work – doesn’t.

  2. Amanda Says:

    I don’t homeschool, but I think it’s a great concept and one I am proud of you for stinking to. I think it needs to be a conversation between you, Phillip, and Jackson. I think you’ll know when the time is right. I pray God will make it obvious that the time has come when it gets here. Until then, enjoy the time good, bad, and everything in between.

  3. Amanda Says:

    sticking, not stinking. I really do need to proofread first.

  4. Jennifer Finney Says:

    that’s a tough one. middle school is such a tough age. we moved to Galveston when i was going into 6th grade and the change of friends and raging hormones didn’t help me integrate very gracefully. i feel like i finally calmed down at about 7th grade. my sis-in-law was homeschooled all the way through high school and graduated when she was 16. Her two younger twin brothers were also homeschooled and then enrolled in public high school. One did really well and chose to stay in public school, while the other one hated it and went back to homeschooling. guess amanda’s right…you’ll just have to wait and see and then really pay attention to jackson’s cues. if he thrives he may want to stay in public school, but he may also prefer home schooling and simply do better in that environment.

  5. Cyndi Says:

    If he or you want him involved in orchestra or band they start in 6th grade with those options, so that provides him with kind of a group of kids to get to know on a smaller scale.


Leave a Reply

