Jenny Hintze

"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams." – Willy Wonka

the kitchen facelift July 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jhintze @ 8:43 pm
Tags:

We spent a chunk of Wednesday, Thursday, and today sprucing up our kitchen. It wasn’t “bad” before. It just wasn’t us. The cutesy wallpaper and yellow paint to match the counters just made me feel kind of icky inside. Our friends Cindy and Andrea stopped in to help out. We couldn’t have gotten it done so quickly without their help. Thanks! So here are a couple of before pics.



This is the color scheme that I pretty much haphazardly decided on the day before we started painting. That’s just how I roll.



Here’s one during the wallpaper removal process. Mikey “helped” Cindy. And no, I’m not wearing white granny panties up higher than my waistband. That’s just how white my flesh is. I wish I could tell you that it were granny panties. Anyway…



Today Phillip and I (mostly Phillip) refinished the drawer and cabinet pulls to match the light fixtures that are already in our kitchen. Before they were a lovely gold. After they are kind of a dark bronze. This is exciting stuff right here.




And here is the finished kitchen/dining room. It’s finished but we still need curtains and other accessories. That room through the kitchen is my office. It’s the same yellow that the dining room was before. It looks like it’s some awful green in this picture. It’s just the light. That room will get a new coat of paint soon.





We’re really happy with how it turned out. I’m envisioning a big dark red framed mirror on the wall in the dining room and maybe some kind of dark red curtains of some sort. In the next couple of years we hope to pulverize the 1950’s yellow tile and replace it with granite or quartz. Some people may prefer the before pictures and not understand why we changed it. And if that’s the case then I’m sure you can find some quaint wallpaper with flowers on it at Lowe’s that will make your heart skip a beat. The previous yellow is called “sunbeam.”

 

One Response to “the kitchen facelift”

  1. Finneyfer Says:

    I think it looks great! I am impressed by your ability to make a color choice and actually follow through. That’s my problem. I can’t decide what to do in my house. That’s why poor Eli’s room is still the same color as the rest of our boring, brown house. Maybe one day I’ll at least put some fun stuff on the walls. They say to give babies lots of fun stuff to look at. Right now he’s got his name. That’s it. Oh well, I don’t really think he cares right now. He us only 12 weeks old after all.


Leave a Reply

